Must should know the Jataprolu Kollapur Samsthana Complete Details

Jataprolu Samsthana also known as the Kollapur estate is located in the Nagarkurnool district in Telangana. Jataprolu Samsthana was one of the most ancient and historic Samasthanas. The samsthana was founded by Pillalamarri Bethel Reddy. The capital of Jataprolu samsthana was Kollapur town. Kollapur is a region in the region Telangana part of the Nallamala forest situated on the banks of River Krishna.

In the early 1900 AD, Kollapur was quite famous for its mangoes, the presence of an Aerodrome, and its helipad. Kollapur was referred to as Telangana Mysore because of the broad roads and neighboring tree plantations. A massive lift irrigation project work worth 1500 crores is undertaken by the Telangana government near Kollapur.

Kollapur Sansthan has hundreds of temples that have a history of hundreds of years. Some of the most famous temples are Someshwra, Malleshwara, and Sangameshwara temples. The treasures belonging to some of the temples are over 1500 years old and root back to the 2nd Century. 

Jataprolu Kollapur Samsthana

One of the notable tourist destinations in Jataprolu is Somasila temple, which is located just 9 km away from Kollapur. A road has also been laid by the government from Kollapur to Somasila to ease out the journey for the devotees.

Also Visit: Special Story On Peddabankor Village in Peddapalli District

During the 16th century, The Rajas of Jetprole built the Madhava Swamy temple at Kollapur on the left bank of river Krishna at Manchalakatta. The architecture of the temple is so impressive even today. The temple walls depict beautifully carved sculptures with 24 aspects of Vishnu and the Dasa-Avatars of Vishnu. Additionally, various pillars supporting the Mandapa, and the Garudalaya add beauty to the temple complex.

During the Srisailam dam construction, afraid of the risk of submergence, 

Due to the submergence under the Srisailam project reservoir, this temple was shifted and arranged at Kollapur.

Let us look at the hierarchy of the rulers of the Jetaprolu region.

  • 1507 AD: Malla Bhupathi Naidu
  • 1650 AD: Surabhi Madhava Raya – Author of the Chandrika Parinayam
  • 1694 AD : Narasinga Rao
  • 1850: Surabhi Lakshama Rao
  • 1851 – 1884 AD: Lakshami Jagannada Rao
  • 1884 – 1929 AD : Raja Venkata Lakshama Rao
  • 1929 AD: Rani Venkata Rathnamma
  • 1948 AD : Raja Surabhi Venkata Jaganadha Rao

Related Posts

1 of 303