Medak History – Complete Details

Medak District is located in the state of Telangana. The original name of Medak district is Siddapuram. Later, the town’s name was later changed to Gulshanabad. Later, with time, the prefix Siddapur lost its glory and with popular usage, the district was renamed, Medak.

Medak History - Complete Details
Medak History – Complete Details

Medak district was first a part of the Kakatiya Kingdom and then the Bahmani Kingdom and later the Golconda Kingdom. With the fall of the Qutubshahi dynasty, it was annexed to the Mughal Empire. 

During the formation of Hyderabad State by Asif Jahi, this district was detached and included in the Nizam’s Dominions. Later, it became a part of Andhra Pradesh with effect from 1st November 1956 under the scheme of Re-organisation of States.

Political History of Medak

The political history of Medak commences with the advent of the Mouryas of the south during the reign of Asoka. Satavahanas gained prominence over the Deccan of which, the Medak district formed a part. Several coins of the Satavahana rulers like Goutamiputra Satakarni, Vasishtiputra Pulumavi, Siv Sri, Yagna Sri Satakarni, etc. were found in the excavations done by the archaeologists at Kondapur village of Medak district. Archaeologists have confirmed that a number of Chaityas, Viharas, Stupas, and Monasteries were buried over time under the ground. 

Eighteen rulers ruled this district for a period of 383 years. But only two rulers Mana and Yasa proved to be powerful. Mana broke the domination of the Satavahanas and assumed the title of ‘Rajan’. 

The rule of this dynasty came to an end with the Chalukyas of Badami, who later on lost to the Rashtrakutas. After the Rashtrakutas, Medak District passed into the hands of Western Chalukyas of the Kalyani dynasty and they ruled from 973 to 1200 A.D. Famous rulers like Ahavamalla Taila-II, Somesvara-I, Somesvara-II, Vikramaditya-VI, and Trailokyamalla Taila-III belonged to the Kalyani dynasty.  

Also Visit: Padmakshi Temple, Warangal – History & Significance

The Kakatiya dynasty rulers included Prola-II, Ganapati, Rudramba, and Prataparudra. Kakatiya emperor Prataparudra built Medak fort on a hillock around the 12th century. It was called the Methukudurgam (and Methukuseema), from the Telugu word Methuku (meaning cooked rice grain). The Medak fort stands as the epitome of architectural excellence of the Kakatiya Empire. 

During the reign of Muhammad-I, the son of Alla-ud-din Bahman Shah, defeated  Kapaya Nayaka and captured Warangal also included a major portion of the Medak district. 

Ali Barid attacked the King of Vijayanagar in the famous battle of Tallikota, in which, the Vijayanagar ruler was defeated. Ali Barid died in 1582. 

During the reign of Prataparudra, the Malik Kafur army under the command of Ala-ud-din Khilji, while on its way to Warangal, captured this district. These invasions ended with the annexation of his Kingdom to the Delhi Sultanate.

With the fall of the Kakatiya empire, Muhammadbin-Tuglaq, the Sultan of Delhi, divided the Deccan and South India into five provinces and appointed Governors to administer them. 

Shihab-i-Sultani, entitled Nuzrat Khan was thus appointed Governor of Telangana, also included Medak District. 

Sultan Kuli who was the Governor of the Golconda province under the Bahmanis took advantage of the distracted state of the kingdom under Muhammad Shah of the Barid Shahi Dynasty. He declared his independence, establishing the Qutub Shahi dynasty which reigned from 1512 to 1687 A.D. Thereafter this Kingdom was annexed to the Mughal Empire, by Aurangazeb.

During Aurangazeb’s reign, the Maratha proved to be a threat to Aurangazeb. He sent troops to establish his supremacy over Medak. The victory of the Mughals on Marathas was celebrated by Nizam-ul-Mulk in a grand manner.

Under the Government of Telangana

Medak District became the Headquarters at Sangareddy according to G.O.M.S 239; Dt: 11-10-2016 by the Government of Telangana. It is surrounded by Kamareddy, Siddipet, and Sangareddy districts.

Also Visit: Kurumurthy Temple – Kurupathu hills

Related Posts

1 of 303