India to Host 2025 Women’s World Cup!

India to Host 2025 Women’s World Cup

On Tuesday the International Cricket Council ICC finally unveiled the host country for the next major ICC tournaments in the women’s category. It was finalized that India is going to host the 50 over 2025 women’s World Cup.

The next ICC Women’s world cup in 2025 will be hosted by India and Sri Lanka will be hosting the ICC Women’s T20 Champions Trophy in 2027.

India to Host 2025 Women's World Cup!
India to Host 2025 Women’s World Cup!

The hosts of the ICC World Cup were selected via a competitive bidding process overseen by a board sub-committee chaired by Martin Sneddon along with Clare Corner, Sourav Ganguly, and Ricky Skerritt. 

The recommendations of the committee who conducted a thorough review of each along with ICC management were accepted by the ICC board.

The women’s T20 cricket is getting ready to participate at the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham this year with the top 8 teams competing for the gold medal. 

ICC chairman Greg Barclay has quoted that “We are delighted to have awarded ICC Women’s white ball events to Bangladesh, India, England, and Sri Lanka. Accelerating the growth of the women’s game is one of the ICC’s strategic priorities and taking these events to some of our sports’ biggest markets gives us a fantastic opportunity to do that and deepen its connection with more than 1 billion cricket fans.”

The President of BCCI Sourav Ganguly has stated that “We were keen on hosting the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2025 and we are glad we have won the hosting right for the marquee clash on the women’s calendar. India hosted the 50 over women’s World Cup in 2013 and the sport has undergone tremendous transformation since then.”

He further added that “The popularity of women’s cricket is rapidly rising and this is a step in the right direction. The BCCI will work closely with the ICC and fulfill all the requirements.”

Related Posts

1 of 279