All you need to know about Polavasa Chiefs of Nengonda Dynasty

Polavasa chiefs also called Polasa chiefs belonged to the Nengonda Dynasty in the 11th and 12th centuries (1075 AD -1160 AD). Polavasa chiefs are the descendants of Rashtrakutas based out in the north of the Kakatiya territories.

Polavasa Chiefs of Nengonda Dynasty
Polavasa Chiefs of Nengonda Dynasty

During the Medaraja rule in 1080–1110, Polavasa was the capital of the Nengonda Dynasty. Polavasa is known by the name in modern-day Jagtial of Karimnagar district to Narsampet of Warangal district.

The three brothers of the rulers’ family Medararaju, Edaraju, and Gundaraja (1116- 1138) bore the same title and ruled the kingdom from different places. This is according to their Rastrakuta descent. 

In the early times, Polavasa chiefs were subordinates of the Western Chalukyas. But, later they revolted against the Western Chalukyas due to the overlords. However, the Polavasa chiefs were defeated by the Chalukya King Jagadekamalla II with the support of Beta II (1076 – 1108). For his support in the conflict, he was appointed as Sabbi-1000 also, in the modern-day referred to as Karimnagar district.

The Kakatiya dynasty ruler Pratapa Rudra-II conquered the Polavasa and neighboring regions in a battle. Eventually, the ruler of  Polavasa Medaraju II has given his only daughter in marriage to the tribal king Pagididdaraju of Medaram. Later, he flew to Medaram after losing his kingdom to Kakatiyas.

During the first half of the twelfth century A.D., Mahamandalesvara Edaraja ruled the Ramagundam. But, he was not the crowned king but was a contemporary ruler to Medaraja II of Polavasa and Gundaraja of Mantrakuta.

Between A.D. 1138 and 1140, Kakti Prola II defeated all of them. He then occupied the eastern portions of the district including the areas of Manthani, Ramagundam, and present Godavarikani were included in the Kakatiya kingdom.

Many temples were built by the Polavasa chiefs, Chalukyas of Kalyani, and Kakatiyas during the 11th and 12th centuries. Of all of them, the wonderful monument Trikuta temple of Jangoan, which is a part of Godavarikhani is famous. 

Let us look at the hierarchy of the Polavasa chiefs during the 11th and 12th centuries. 

  • Madhava varman
  • Durgaraja (upto 1080AD)
  • Medaraja I (1080-1110AD)
  • Jaggadeva I (1110-1116AD)
  • Gundaraja of Mantrakuta (1116-1138AD)
  • Medaraja II of Polavasa (1116-1159AD)
  • Jaggadeva II of Polavasa
  • Edaraja of Ramagundam

Also Visit: All you need to know about Pranhita River!

Related Posts

1 of 282